R.A. Dickey wins Players Choice Award for NL Outstanding Pitcher

R.A. Dickey has won the Players Choice Award for the National League’s Outstanding Pitcher for 2012.

The Players Choice Awards are awards in which the players themselves recognize their peers’ most outstanding and inspiring performances.

“It’s an extreme honor to be recognized by the people who you play against and compete against all year long,” Dickey said in a statement. “To know my peers think this highly of me is a tremendous feeling.”

Dickey led the National League in strikeouts with 230 strikeouts, 233.2 innings pitched, five complete games  and three shutouts.  He was second in the National League with 20 wins and a 2.73 ERA while leading the major leagues with 27 quality starts.

Dickey also became the first Mets pitcher with 20 wins in a season since 1990, when Frank Viola went 20-12. Dickey joined Tom Seaver (1969, 1971, 1972, 1975), Jerry Koosman (1976), Dwight Gooden (1985), David Cone (1988) and Viola as the only Mets to win at least 20 games in a season.

The Cy Young Award will be announced on November 14.