Updated: Here is the Mets full, preliminary 2012 schedule

Today, Major League Baseball announced its 2012 regular season schedule.

The Mets will open the season at home on Thursday, April 5, against the Braves, after which they face the Nationals (at home), Phillies (on the road) and another series against the Braves (in Atlanta). The Mets play the Yankees for a three-game series starting June 8 in the Bronx, as well as a second three-game set starting June 22 in Queens.

Also in June, the Mets face the Orioles, Blue Jays and Rays (they do not play the Red Sox), and travel to Chicago (June 25, 26, 27) and Los Angeles to close out the month.

The Mets will play day games on Memorial Day (against the Phillies), Father’s Day (against the Reds), and Independence Day (against the Phillies). They finish the regular season with a six-game road trip to Atlanta and Miami, concluding on Sunday, October 3.

By the way, according to the press release, the Marlins will now officially be called the Miami Marlins, who will open the season at New Marlins Ballpark, on Wednesday, April 4, against the Cardinals. “Located in Little Havana, west of downtown Miami, the venue will seat 37,000 fans, will feature a retractable roof and will have spectacular views of downtown Miami,” they release reads.

It’s also worth noting that both the Brewers and Astros are still in the National League next season, at least according to the schedule, which should put to bed rumors that one of the two could be switched to the American League next year to have 15 teams in each league.